Skip to content

Lucky Luckett’s Work Bench

May 24, 2013

20130524-224839.jpg

In the south, you have to perform your clean outs in the winter or cooler spring/fall months. When you enter an attic or barn on a 100+ degree day, you put your life on the line and risk heat stroke. I’ve been able to take advantage of these unusually cool May days in South Texas, so I ventured into my grand-in-law’s barn to find a few items in need of work. I had spotted this baby before and Sunday was it’s day of restitution… Or Rescue-tution!!!
20130524-225328.jpg

20130524-225345.jpg
Excited to get started, I failed to photograph it in its former pathetic state… Picture this: a haunted house, covered with cobwebs, dirt dobber nests, pure grittiness…(Is that even a word?) after I removed the cobwebs and dirt, I decided to give it a quick spray with the garden hose. The afternoon sun would beat down quickly to dry it out.

20130524-225721.jpg
The wood was still in great shape, although very dried out. It is sturdy and obviously made by hand with a story. My hubs has no recollection of the bench or any backstory. It didn’t stick out in his mind.
Instantly, a small sample of MMS Luckett’s Green milk paint came to mind for this project. I rescued an empty spaghetti sauce jar and got to mixing. It was already an old bench and I knew that I wanted to make it part of my mud room. I didn’t want the chippy paint look or real chipped paint attaching to my backside as I walk out the door every morning. Therefore, I used the MMS bonding agent to keep the paint from chipping.

20130524-230134.jpg. Immediately, the bench soaked up the paint, but it went on very thin and watery. The pigments were very blue at first, but by the time I got to the bottom of my mixing jar , the yellow pigments revealed themselves. You’ve got to be OK with the inconsistencies of milk paint and not be so anal retentive about the color consistency. The sample packet was perfect for this small project. I learned that warmer water worked best when I mixed the paint. The easiest way to mix it was to shake it all up together in the glass jar.

20130524-230743.jpg

20130524-230730.jpg

20130524-230831.jpg

So far, my Investment was a little elbow grease and a few hours of my time…
I wanted to finish this piece because it would be in a high traffic area… Aka: in a house with kids, pets, and a husband! Ha! I pulled out the CeCe Caldwell clear wax I had on hand. I had never used it and I didn’t have the round wax brush yet that I had intended on purchasing to use with the wax. But, I did have an old tee shirt laying around. So I went to town!

20130524-231232.jpg

20130524-231449.jpg
The wax was very soft and super easy to work with. This picture above shows the wax on the lower portion of the bench and no wax on the upper portion of the bench. I know this picture doesn’t do the colors much justice, but the waxed portion is so much brighter and the milk paint details really come out. See this final photo below for the vibrant milk paint color of the old forgotten work bench that was lucky to be rescued from an old Texas barn! Don’t you just love the texture?
Now, I’m in search of the backstory that accompanies this piece. I’ll have to have my ear bent
by a few of my husband’s family members to search out its’ former story. I can’t wait… In the meantime, it has a new use by our garage door into a makeshift mud room bench. I just love my three hour Sunday afternoon makeover! What do you think? Oh, and if nobody has a backstory for this bench, you can bet we’ll make up an Irish tall tale to accompany it. If you’ve read any other part of my blog, you’ll know that many of my pieces have stories to boot. What kind of story do you think I should write?
I linked up at Miss Mustard Seed Furniture Feature Friday.

20130524-232501.jpg

From → furniture redo

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

