Skip to content

Houndstooth Desk Inspired by Grandfather Part II

April 8, 2013

Well, this project was definitely more than I could chew off as a DIY project for one weekend. In fact, any errors I made were in haste because I couldn’t let the paint dry completely. As time went on in this project, I found that patience is a virtue!
A few pointers:
1. Use the best quality tape. It really does make a difference. I bought better tape and there was virtually no bleeding.
2. Let each coat dry thoroughly between retaping, more like 2-3 days instead of 2-3 hours. This is the time consuming part…waiting!
3. Do not use a permanent marker to draw lines on the desk if you are planning to sand it. I did this at one point in some places, then painted over it. But, when I sanded, the paint removed itself and not the marker. Oops! Character!

20130408-204317.jpg
Basically, I repeated the pattern on the two outsides as I did on the top (see videos in part I).
part I

Then, I painted the drawers solid black. Next, I sanded the piece with a palm sander to give the aged and roughed up appearance I feel a boy’s desk should have. Finally, I spontaneously decided to add some stain to increase the aged look and to cover the bare wood spots. I also didn’t care for the honey stain, so I wanted to go darker. I think that I will wait on the final coat of polyurethane after it wears a bit.

20130408-205054.jpg
In the end, I decided to keep the original handles my mom put on for me when I was a child. They were both sentimental and a great pop against the black and wood.

20130408-203559.jpg

20130408-203619.jpg

20130408-203712.jpg
So, my son is seven and he loves Orange! I’m thinking that I need to paint the chair a bright glossy orange now. What is your thought?

I looked and looked for that old picture of my grandfather and me, the one that inspired me, but I just can’t locate it. I know this piece will bring many warm memories to me as I watch my son grow with it and I hope that he decides to keep it in the family for years to come. What heirloom piece inspires you?
I linked up with Thrifty Decor Chick…

One Comment
  1. What a neat makeover!

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

