Skip to content

Houndstooth Desk Inspired by Grandfather- Part I

January 29, 2013

20130129-205453.jpg

SEC DISCLAIMER: No, I am not an Alabama fan, never have been, never will be! I am a Tiger of LSU. My passion for nostalgia runs deep in my blood. This piece of furniture is not just an old child’s desk. It was my mother’s desk as a little girl. It was also my desk as a little girl. Now it belongs to my son. When I think of houndstooth, tweed or plaid, I remember my Dad’O, my paternal grandfather. I remember this photo of him and I when I was about 3 years old. When I find it, I will post it here. He always wore a hat like Bear Bryant with a sports coat, always! This project is just a way to preserve the memories of my family through the times when old thoughts fleet me.

I hope you find these tutorials useful. I will write this post in two parts. The first part will break down the step by step of the pattern project. Part two will show the overall transformation of the desk.

There will be three video links that take you over to You Tube for the step by step directions.

houndstooth tutorial…part 1

Houndstooth tutorial part 2

Houndstooth tutorial. Part 3

Houndstooth Stencil


This project from Not Just a Housewife got me started.

I linked up with: The Shabby Nest
 

From → furniture redo

4 Comments
  1. Love, love, love it! ROLL TIDE! (Just kidding….my husband is from Alabama and he is starting to rub off on me!) Your desk is so cute and has such sweet meaning being handed down through your family. Your houndstouth paint job is perfect for a little boy!

    • Ha! Down the toilet bowl… JJ. It’s not finished yet. I’m going to try to get it done this weekend and post part 2. Thx! geauxTigers!

  2. It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Houndstooth Desk Inspired by Grandfather Part II | cre8ivecharly

Leave a Reply

