Skip to content

Headboard upcycled antique reinvented

January 16, 2013
20130115-215324.jpg

20130115-215324.jpg

This headboard is very close to heart and was a long time coming. It has tremendous sentimental value because the wooden frame of it is upcycled from a armoire cabinet that was once in my grandmother’s home. I remember her keeping Audubon birds and a ceramic magnolia piece made from her own hands on display inside. The hubby wanted to convert it into a gun cabinet and I wanted to refurbish it, but it was beyond repair and damaged by insects from long-term storage. Once the cabinet fell apart and was beyond repair, the frame stood against my wall for over 2 years before we did something more with it. I also salvaged other pieces that I will showcase at another time.

I had previously already had a bed frame for our queen sized bed, but when we upgraded to a king last winter…voila! Winner! My unhandy husband actually helped me out tremendously hear AND so did my high school bestie’s hubby all the way in Louisiana! He split the 2″x4″ with his saw for me so we could hang it on the wall and I drove with it in my car back to Texas last summer.

Basically, I used less than $75 in materials because the rest (frame) was free!
I used loo-on (spelling?) instead of plywood because it is lighter. The boys at Lowe’s cut it to my specifications at my request and a smile… The dimensions of the loo-on were about 2″ longer than the inside frame dimensions. 3″ foam was purchased from JoAnn’s with my 40% off coupon ($30 savings). I also bought a can of spray adhesive to attach the foam to the loo-on. I had previously chosen 1-1/2 to 2 yards of upholstery fabric. I chose to spray the fabric with some fabric protector, just in case. Finally, I used a heavy duty stapler and some screws to put it together. I centered the foam (cut to the inside dimensions of the frame) on the loo-on, then attached it with spray foam. Next, I stapled the fabric to the loo-on with hubby’s help. Then, I fit the foam/fabric covered board into the frame to fit snugly. 20130115-215504.jpgFinally, we measured and aligned the 2″x4″ to the upper third of the back of the frame.

20130115-215346.jpg It was screwed into the back of the frame.

20130115-215357.jpg Lastly, the second piece of the split 2″x4″ was attached to the wall and leveled.

20130115-215411.jpg We hung the frame over the top of the bed with about a 6-8″ clearance over the top of the mattress. It’s super comfortable to lean against when reading a book and reminds me daily of my grandmother. The keyhole detail is also on display at the top of the headboard frame. I am very proud of our accomplishment! Thanks Hubby!

20130116-200055.jpg

3 Comments
  1. Superb site you have here but I was curious if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Bless you!

  2. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I came across this in my hunt for something relating to this.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Full of Hope Chest | cre8ivecharly

Leave a Reply

